“My horse is just being bad.”

Standard

From February 15th, 2014

The very first time I got on a horse was June 30th, 1979.  I was ten.  It was summer camp.  The horse was “Miss Tea.”  She was an appaloosa.  And I was told, “you have to MAKE her do it!”  Actually I was yelled that a lot.  Make her, make her.  She’s just being lazy.  Make her!

That’s how it was back then.  We were dominant over horses, they were insubordinate, and it was our jobs as riders to MAKE them do what we wanted them to do.  Okay, so there is maybe some truth to this when you are on a very lazy school horse AND just learning to ride.  (That’s for another blog.)

But then you get your first horse.  Or maybe your second or third.  And you start to wonder how much of this is really true?  Is it really that my horse just doesn’t “feel” like working today and that is why he ___________ Fill in the blank: won’t go forward, bucks when I put my leg on, tries to bite me when I tighten the girth, etc. etc.?

The more I work with horses doing bodywork and acupuncture the more I say “no.”  Most of the time there is something keeping the horse from doing his (or her) work properly.  I am often amazed at how in pain a horse must have and yet still be doing so much for their riders.  These horses have HEART!

Sometimes the vet can’t figure out what is wrong either but you know your horse just isn’t “right.”

So here is personal example:

The other day I got on my mare and she started scooting after I mounted her.  I put my leg on and she threw her head up and refused to go forward.  Now, back in 1979 I would have been like, “You are just being bad!  You just don’t want to work today!  I must MAKE you do it!”  But now in 2014 I say, “okay, something is up.”  And after my years of working on horses I was pretty sure I knew what it was — I immediately checked her ribs to see if they were in alignment.  Nope, one was out on the right.  When ribs go “out” they actually twist.  I did my thing, my release work, and as the rib slid back into place again on it’s own accord my horse let out a huge sigh.  I put my leg on and immediately she dropped her head, reached for the bit, and went on a nice forward walk.

Have you ever had a rib out of alignment?  Ever bruised a rib?  Cracked one (God forbid!)  If you have you know how really painful it can be.  Even breathing becomes very difficult because the ribs must move to allow air in and out.  Now imagine a nutcracker around your ribs and squeezing?  How would you react?

It amazes me that a horse who has this kind of pain would even let us mount let alone put our leg around and squeeze.

Now hold on.  I don’t want you to feel guilty.  And certainly I don’t want you to start to “baby” your horse from here on out thinking that every little thing is some huge physical problem.  Instead I suggest you KNOW your horse.  Listen to what your horse is telling you.  If she pins her ears and is hesitant to go forward there is probably something physically going on – either painful or structurally out of place, or both.  Give them a break that day.  See how they are the next ride.  And if they are still unhappy have them checked out.  Before it becomes chronic.

And maybe now you are thinking about how your horse is always biting at you when you tighten the girth?  Or pins his ears into the canter.  Or has so much difficulty picking up her right lead.  “But my horse has been doing this for years.  It’s normal.”  No, it’s not.  These are signs of pain and or structural issues, too.  Have your horse checked out.

Yes, I do think that the body, whether human or equine wants to heal itself.  But even more so the body wants to stay at homeostasis.  I’ll talk about what this means and what the long-term effects are next blog.  Also what can be done about it.  In the meantime….

Ride in Stride,

LydiaImage

Leave a comment